Click on a name to view their winning submission.


In 2015-2016, students were asked the following question:

What top 3 priorities should Canada’s agricultural industry focus on in order to be a leading agricultural body going forward? How will you, as a new graduate, positively contribute to these priorities?

The winners for 2015-2016 were:


In 2014-2015, students were asked the following question:

How can the agricultural industry best support young farmers looking to succeed in an ever-competitive and complex global marketplace?

The winners for 2014-2015 were:


In 2013-2014, students were asked the following question:

“What key skills has your educational institution taught you about farm management that will be most useful in your career? Please explain why these are important.”

The 2013-2014 winners were:


In 2012-2013, the students were asked the following question:

“Why is innovation an important aspect of a farm’s success? How can farm business management be innovative? Please provide examples.”

The 2012-2013 winners were:


In 2010-2011 the students were asked the following question:

“What is the importance of lifelong learning to meet the business management requirements of an increasingly complex agricultural industry, and how can farm managers integrate learning opportunities into their hectic schedules?”

The 2011-2012 winners were:

  • Angela Alder, Stettler. AB (Lethbridge College  –  Agriculture Technology Program)
  • Natalie Forest –  Coaldale, AB   (Lethbridge College – Agriculture Technology Program)
  • Tessa Nybo – Sundre, AB (Olds College –  Agriculture Management Program)


In 2010-2011 the students were asked the following question:

“As a future farm manager, how will you balance the environmental stewardship necessary for the safeguarding of our water, air and soil with the need to be productive and competitive in a global economy?”

The 2010-2011 winners were:

  • Gabriel Gosselin (Institut de technologie agroalimentaire – Campus de La Pocatière, QC)
  • Jessica Harbers (Lethbridge College, AB)
  • Mathieu Ouellette (Université Laval, QC)


In 2009-2010 the students were asked the following question:

How do changing consumer trends affect farm management responsibilities and styles?

The 2009-2010 winners were:

  • Kendra Laing (University of Saskatchewan)
  • Philippe Langlois (Institut de technologie agroalimentaire)
  • Améillie Sirois LeClerc (McGill University)
  • Alexandra Fournier Lupien (Collége Lionel-Groulx)
  • Elizabeth Schouten (University of Guelph)


In 2008-2009 the students were asked the following question:

Starting a farm in Canada is no easy task these days. What are some innovative ways for the next generation of farmers to get into farming?

The 2008-2009 winners were:

  • Geneviève Arseneault, Université Laval, Agroéconomie
  • Christina Crowley, University of Guelph, Agricultural Business
  • Jacques Gaudet, Cégep de Victoriaville, Gestion et exploitation d’entreprise agricole (horticulture biologique)
  • Emma Holmes, University of British Columbia, Global Resource Systems – sustainable agriculture
  • Kevin Robson, University of Guelph, Bachelor of Science in Agriculture, crop science