• Seeding Excellence Program for Students
  • Brigid Rivoire Award for Champions of Agricultural Mental Health
  • Wilson Loree Award
  • Canadian Agricultural Partnership

Seeding Excellence

Seeding Excellence

Farm Management Canada has created a new student program to provide sponsorship for premium registration to our annual Agricultural Excellence (AgEx) Conference taking place December 8-10, 2020. This year, we will be hosting the conference online to a truly national audience. To learn more about AgEx, click here!

Seeding Excellence looks to support the next generation of young farmers by sponsoring the attendance of a College or University student (or multiple students) to attend the Agricultural Excellence Conference! The student can be from any field of study or program, be it Agriculture, Tech, or Business.

Farm Management Canada is collecting submissions from post secondary students across Canada and will award sponsorship to attend the Conference based on available organizations who have joined the program.

Sponsorship includes:

  • Access to speakers and sessions throughout AgEx, including a student specific session.
  • Premium registrations and registration for our AgExtras post-conference sessions.

The Seeding Excellence program is designed to help students connect with industry experts to learn more about farm business management and how they can use the skills and knowledge gained at AgEx to help enhance their careers and contributions to the agricultural industry.

Students are asked to submit a 2-minute video responding to the following question:

From your perspective, what is the importance of farm business management within agriculture? How will attending AgEx help you make a positive contribution to Canada’s agricultural sector?

The application deadline is November 1, 2020.

To apply, click on the Apply tab and fill out the application form. You can submit your video by providing a direct URL to your video. Click here for more info about ways to share your video online.

Eligibility criteria

  • Applicants must be at least 18 years of age as of 15 December 2020, and they must be enrolled in a program at a recognized post-secondary educational institution;
  • Applicants must provide proof of enrollment at an educational institution (you can complete an application form even if you have applied for admission and have not yet received a reply. However, if your application is accepted, you will need to provide a copy of your acceptance letter);
  • Applicants must reside in Canada.

For an information one-pager, click here.

Contact us today! 613-237-9060 or toll-free 1-888-232-3262 sponsorship(at) |

Cultivating excellence in farm business management.

For more information, contact:
Denise Rollin
Project Manager
Farm Management Canada
613-237-9060 x 32 or 1-888-232-3262 x 32

  • Date Format: MM slash DD slash YYYY

For more information, contact:
Denise Rollin
Project Manager
Farm Management Canada
613-237-9060 x 32 or 1-888-232-3262 x 32

Click To Close

Brigid Rivoire Award for Champions of Agricultural Mental Health

Brigid Rivoire Award for Champions of Agricultural Mental Health

Farm Management Canada is pleased to be part of this wonderful initiative in honour of Brigid Rivoire and in support of farmer mental health.

The Brigid Rivoire Award for Champions of Agricultural Mental Health annually recognizes a specific initiative that has made outstanding contributions in raising awareness, addressing stigma, and supporting mental health for farmers in their local community. This annual award includes a $2,000 donation to a mental health initiative of the recipient’s choice, along with an invitation to attend the Canadian Federation of Agriculture’s (CFA) Annual General Meeting in February with all expenses paid.

The deadline for Expressions of Interest is October 11, 2020. All Expressions of Interest received after this date will be rolled over to be considered for the award the following year. For the 2019 award, the deadline for endorsed nominations will be November 15, 2020.

The award will be given out at the CFA’s Annual General Meeting in Ottawa, which runs from February 23-25, 2020.

For more details on the award and nomination process visit:

Wilson Loree Award

Wilson Loree Award

Award for advancing farm business management now accepting nominations

Farm Management Canada is seeking to honour individuals or groups with the 2019 Wilson Loree Award. This prestigious award was established over fifteen years ago, to honour those that have made an extraordinary contribution to developing and promoting new and positive change in agricultural business management practices and expertise in Canada.

Farm Management Canada encourages the nomination of individuals or groups that:

  • have made significant contributions in the area of business management regionally or nationally;
  • have demonstrated innovation in areas such as turning research into practical management tools, adapting best practices from other sectors to agriculture, and finding new ways to deliver training, information and resources to farm managers;
  • have served as a role model and a mentor to colleagues, partners and clients, inspiring them to achieve their full potential;
  • have demonstrated the ability to network and develop partnerships to include others in furthering the shared goals and vision of the agriculture industry

Nominations are required by October 4, 2019. Farm Management Canada Staff and Board members are not eligible for the award. The winner will be revealed during the Agricultural Excellence Conference on Tuesday, December 3. All are welcome to attend.

Do you know someone who has made an extraordinary contribution to developing and promoting new and positive change in farm business management practices and expertise in Canada?

Nominate them for the Wilson Loree Award today!

About the Award

The Wilson Loree award is named after Wilson Loree who retired as Branch Head of Agriculture Business Management after 27 years with Alberta Agriculture, Food and Rural Development. A past director and one of the founders of the Canadian Farm Business Management Council (now Farm Management Canada), he has been cited as “an individual who exemplifies innovation, wisdom, and a constant focus on the farm manager and the farm family.”

Recipients of the Wilson Loree award to date are:

  • 2019 – Len Davies, Ontario
  • 2018 – Elaine Froese, Manitoba
  • 2017 – Darrell Wade, Ontario
  • 2016 – Merle Good, Alberta
  • 2015 – Terry Betker, Manitoba
  • 2014 – Peter VanderZaag,Ontario
  • 2013 – Jean-Philippe Perrier, Quebec
  • 2012 – Lyle Staveness,Saskatchewan
  • 2011 – Dr. Larry Martin, Ontario
  • 2010 – Brian Little,Ontario
  • 2009 – George Geldart, British Columbia
  • 2008 – Raymond Levallois, Quebec
  • 2007 – Marcel Couture, agr., Quebec
  • 2006 – Ian Hall, Alberta
  • 2005 – The Team of Farm Management Instructors from the School of Agriculture, University of Manitoba
  • 2004 – Dr. Len Bauer, Alberta
  • 2003 – Fédération des groupes conseils agricoles du Québec

Wilson Loree Award Farm Management Canada
300-250 City Centre Ave Ottawa ON K1R 6K7
E-mail: info(at)

Canadian Agricultural Partnership (CAP)

Canadian Agricultural Partnership (CAP)

Canadian Agricultural Partnership (CAP): Cost-Share Funding Programs for Cultivating Management Excellence

Updated July 13, 2018

Click here for a listing of the cost-share funding programs offered by the Provincial and Territorial Ministries of Agriculture for farmers, agricultural associations and agribusiness. The list is limited to cost-shared funding specific to farm business management.